Thoughts Sans Boundaries

Cold war between Russia and America?

Posted in photography, trans siberian, travel by Aditya Moorthy on March 31, 2010

Who says Americans and Russians don’t get along. All my life I grew up hearing the differences between the USA and erstwhile USSR and how they started an arms and space race. That may have been true in the 60s or even up to the 90s but the Russia today is a very different place and they don’t hold any grudge against anyone, atleast from my perspective. We visited the Red Square on the 22nd of February and the emotions I experienced was something unique. I grew up studying about Trans Siberian Railway in my Geography lessons, enjoyed Misha children’s magazines, bought books publised by the MIR Publications that sold at phenomenolly cheap prices and had a poster of the St. Basil’s Cathedral next to the Kremlin in my bedroom wall for many years. When it really happened and I was about to enter the Red Square, I was thrilled… hmm for two reasons. One, I just mentioned and the second, to see this in front of the Red Square…

Homer Simpson posing for photo with a young Russian girl, Red Square, Moscow, 22nd February 2010

Ahem… and do I spot Sponge Bob in the next photo…

Homer Simpson and Sponge Bob galavanting at Red Square, Moscow, Russia, 22nd February 2010

Leave a Reply

